Last 15 Reader Reviews

Toby Carvery (Romford)

I'm not a fan of Branded outlets. The point of a brand is supposed to be reassuring but I beg to differ. I've had some disasters in outlets such as Toby Carvery and I have refused to use them for quite some time but on this occasion I was very pleasantly surprised.

The Romford Brewery Toby actually runs like clockwork. It has the same menu as other Toby's the same facilities (as you would expect from a brand) but this particular Toby bucks the trend for me and my guests. The food is hot fresh and very well presented, We were greeted by an enthusiastic lady whom I believe in her manner must have been the manager, she new exactly what was going on and was directing her team in an exceptional way.

Great experience Thank you,

SARAH PINKERTON - Tuesday, April 18, 2017


Jamie's Italian (Greenwich)

Booked well in advance to Jamie's Italian (Greenwich) for Easter Monday, very early evening with my wife and 2 children. Good atmosphere, very empty though. Family were happy but I wasn't. The limited menu had ran out (at 7pm!) of numerous things, like burgers, children's desserts, other desserts. The only thing Ieft that interested me was a steak but it was very expensive. I asked if it would be reduced due to not having what I wanted. They offered, 'a free coffee or wine perhaps? - we'll sort something out.' I accepted and let it go. The steak was very plain, had lots of fat and a very small cup of fries and a tiny, lettuce only salad. My young kids could have eaten it twice over. No kids desserts, so they had to share an adult one. My wife explained to them that she was happy but I was disappointed and they (i.e. the floor manager) said they hoped they could put it right next time. My wife was given a voucher off something we'll never use, not what was agreed. Review is for me, not my family, so I've unnecessarily added positive items here (e.g. about their experience) which I didn't need to do. Atmosphere let down by few customers. Value for money increased as kids ate free. Long wait for drinks dropped marks on service. Had bacon butties as soon as I got home.

Steve - Tuesday, April 18, 2017


Metro Garden Restaurant

It was my birthday yesterday and I went there with some friends. I was supposed to get a free bday cocktail but I received the voucher quite late that afternoon after we already had lunch at the venue. We were charged for bread which we actually did not have on our table and the service charge was too much considering the fact that we had to wait for someone to find us a table inside during not that busy day. Quite disappointed, would not recommend.

Monday, April 17, 2017


Carluccio's (St Christopher's Place)

Horrifically slow service! Waited 20mins for a Diet Coke! All in all food average but service just killed the experience. When we asked why service had been so slow, I was told it's busy with absolutely no apology! The restaurant wasn't even that full as we arrived at 2.30pm. It was much busier over the lunchtime period! Either they need more staff or take on less customers!

Christiana - Friday, April 14, 2017


Priya Maamalas

last night we order devilled chicken, mutton and dosa. first of all order came one hour late. once we got the food (cant say food) all of them are not fresh. (i can say old food) even this is not the first time. chicken and mutton like stones. we cant eat or break it. and Dosa were like plastic. please don't order from walthamstow branch. i don't know about the other branches. i heard they change the management and they don't know what their doing. not recommend to anybody

Sha - Thursday, April 13, 2017


Wonderful Patisserie

Very bad. They reheat food cooked from morning in the microwave. The food is very bad quality for a lot of money. The pork Is very dry and they had to refund my money, I then ordered belly pork which was even worse. Please do not buy from here if you do not want to be disappointed.

Danny - Monday, April 10, 2017


Dozo Sushi (South Kensington)

Just like the dishes back in Japan

Juriko Hatsuyama - Sunday, April 09, 2017


Cafe Mona Lisa

We've eaten at Mona Lisa 3 times now and have been delighted with the food and service. Every meal has been very good quality and great value for money.

I definitely recommend the fresh grilled fish dishes. Try it out!!

Jon - Saturday, April 08, 2017


Trattoria Verdi

So disappointed:( our experience in this part of Central London was amazing till we entered this restaurant. A lovely girl smiled to us outside and talked us into the restaurant to then turn to an ignoring manager. We were served by a man who pushed us to order quickly and at the end of the meal, I was charged an apparently 10% service charge when it says clearly on the bottom : service not included. I was shocked and disappointed, it was only 10 pm at night, the restaurant was empty, I wonder if they charged us for the lack of customers. Will definitely never go again....

M Lelimousin - Wednesday, April 05, 2017


Sakonis (Harrow)

Sakoni harrow have Ferrari cutlets on the menu. As far as I understand and remember, Ferrari means that people who are fasting can eat this item. On my recent visit to sakoni harrow, I was thinking to order this item as I was fasting. I asked one of the waitresses if the fried mogo chips which they served was fried in clean oil, she said it's not fried in clean oil, she said it's fried in the same oil which everything else is fried in. Luckily I asked about the 'So called Ferrari cutlets' she said the 'Ferrari cutlets' are also fried in the same oil as everything else is fried in which has onions and garlic etc. I approached the owner of sakoni, I asked her if the cutlets and mogo chips could be fried in clean oil for me. She refused. She said the same oil is used for everything. I then told the owner that they should not write 'Ferrari cutlets' on the menu because that's very misleading. Because clearly the item is NOT ferrari. Anyone who fasts and may consider ordering the 'So called Ferrari cutlets' please think twice.. I told the owner that they should just name the item on the menu as 'Mogo cutlets'

Shriti gadhia - Monday, April 03, 2017


The Punjab

Me and my husband were regulars at this restaurant until we had a horrid experience one-day. The staff members were rude and treated us disrespectfully when we complained about the quality of food. A conversation with the manager didn't help and it felt like he was covering for his staffs poor behavior. I was utterly disappointed as no apology was offered by the management. Perhaps they don't care about every - day customers anymore! In all a bad experience, and I won't be returning to this restaurant.

Harsharan Grover - Sunday, April 02, 2017


The Mumbai Junction

Disgusting food, high prices, terrible portions, rude staff - ruined my brother's birthday - AVOID!

Sanjay Modi - Thursday, March 30, 2017


Gilak

I miss this restaurant. It was the one and only authentic northern Iranian food place in london!

Great starters, superb mains and delicious desserts.

Wednesday, March 29, 2017


Casa Becci

This is my favourite Marylebone restaurant. The staff are always friendly and the quality of the food is great. Value for money, especially the lobster with pasta. A wonderful family run gem.

Bob Morgen - Thursday, March 23, 2017


Dirty Dicks

Had a meal with my wife and a friend. The food was very mediocre indeed - not quite awful but overpriced, and in the case of my steak underdone. My wife's venison was so tough as to be almost inedible. Service was poor too - we had to go up to the bar to ask for our bill after vainly waiting about 10 minutes for someone to come round. I know it's only a pub but it is not cheap and for that money I expected a lot better than what was on offer. Just go for a beer and you probably will be OK.

Andy - Friday, March 17, 2017


quick search
user tools
latest blog entry

Special Offers

Great Deals At Top London Restaurants From OpenTable UK
top 20 reviewers
most reviewed restaurants
london tweeting

Barrio Bars to open a new site in Shoreditch next month (via Caterer) - http://t.co/DmDQwfUl

best for...
cuisine
our sites
city eating